The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-31 12:04:32

coyotito
Member
Registered: 2019-09-26
Posts: 9  

Beowulf

Simple question:
Is Devuan Buster Beta ready for home use now or what?  :=)
Cheers.

Offline

#2 2020-03-31 12:18:51

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,601  

Re: Beowulf

I think it's been ready since December. Read what others are saying:
https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=3372

Offline

#3 2020-03-31 15:01:42

sgage
Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 238  

Re: Beowulf

I've been using Beowulf full-time since January, and on and off for much longer than that. For the parts of the system that I use on a regular (or even occasional) basis, it has proven itself rock solid. I use the MATE DE, fwiw.

Offline

#4 2020-04-03 13:45:05

aut0exec
Member
Registered: 2018-11-21
Posts: 76  

Re: Beowulf

Definitely. Been using it on non-important systems for months. Switch my primary desktop over about 2 weeks ago and the only issue was pulseaudio not starting automatically so one of my shell functions for recording audio wasn't working properly. All is solved now though!

Offline

#5 2020-04-04 00:21:27

bgstack15
Member
Registered: 2018-02-04
Posts: 159  

Re: Beowulf

aut0exec wrote:

the only issue was pulseaudio not starting automatically so one of my shell functions for recording audio wasn't working properly.

That was one of my early issues with Devuan Ceres (which was based on Beowulf at the time) as well! I remember making a .desktop file for my xdg autostart to run "pulseaudio -start" I think it was. Nowadays I've moved to alsa and not Xfce, so I have different types of issues now.


This space intentionally left blank.

Offline

#6 2020-04-04 00:56:32

aus9
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 37  

Re: Beowulf

@bgstack15

so I have different types of issues now.

Then it is more likely  that aplay -l shows your hdmi getting index=0 or card 0. Use a modprobe config file to swap the index

see link if relevant
http://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?pid=339#p339

there are other ways of swapping index 2....and assumes you need analog sound.

Last edited by aus9 (2020-04-04 01:11:09)

Offline

#7 2020-04-04 14:49:29

aut0exec
Member
Registered: 2018-11-21
Posts: 76  

Re: Beowulf

bgstack15 wrote:
aut0exec wrote:

the only issue was pulseaudio not starting automatically so one of my shell functions for recording audio wasn't working properly.

That was one of my early issues with Devuan Ceres (which was based on Beowulf at the time) as well! I remember making a .desktop file for my xdg autostart to run "pulseaudio -start" I think it was. Nowadays I've moved to alsa and not Xfce, so I have different types of issues now.

I wish I could move solely to alsa but try as I may, simply can't figure out how to record streams with solely alsa on this machine....

Offline

#8 2020-04-04 15:04:16

bgstack15
Member
Registered: 2018-02-04
Posts: 159  

Re: Beowulf

aus9 wrote:

@bgstack15

so I have different types of issues now.

Then it is more likely  that aplay -l shows your hdmi getting index=0 or card 0. Use a modprobe config file to swap the index

see link if relevant
http://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?pid=339#p339

there are other ways of swapping index 2....and assumes you need analog sound.

Alas, sorry, I was trying to sound mysterious and aloof. I have no problems at the moment to troubleshoot. I do use Xfce and pulseaudio on the one system where I'm trying to output audio to HDMI (home theater PC). I guess I'm just a pragmatist because I use dbus everywhere, because I like lightdm which needs dbus and logind, and pulseaudio when I'm lazy.


This space intentionally left blank.

Offline

Board footer