The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-12-07 22:24:04

mustt-be-fast

Say hello!

Hi! I am a beginner Devuan user with a little Debian experience. I want to use Devuan for always-on and always-connected x86 computer which is going to serve me with my network interests - reading 24/7 few irq channels, torrenting and some cryptocurrencies activity. I loved chatting on Freenet when it was alive but I remember that doing it from not always-on computer might be irritating for other guys in channel, so I am going to be an active IRQ user when I will manage to let such a machine to go in the wild.

My main computer still has Windows 7 to my grief, but 7+ stopped being comfortable for me and when 7 dies completely like XP I will never upgrade to never Windows. But also I will never consider Devuan as my main OS because it is significantly less comfortable for googling problems than Debian.

The main reason why I have chosen Devuan is that Twitter post when systemd has changed some dude's DNS to 8.8.8.8 and that was a moment when I decided that I need to maintain a skill of using Linux without systemd and use it for non-mainstream communication goals of mine. Also I believe that it is important not to be afraid of at least one of my own computers which is crutial for any network-related activity.

I use Devuan on a laptop without discrete videocard, because IMO laptops and 2.5 HDDs is a little bit cooler idea then big desktop with loud 3.5 HDD. I have some strange problem with laptop-related things but this is not important feature for my usage of Devuan and I will formulate problems from this area later. Currently I am struggling with everything because it is easy to find an answer to any question about Debian but this OS is significantly less popular and I am not even sure I understand the difference between these two. But I wish the project good luck and I hope I will befriend with Devuan on my machine sooner or later.