The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-04 19:14:22

rayburn
Member
Registered: 2019-08-06
Posts: 4  

Upgrade error

I have followed the instructions on upgrading from ACSII to Beowulf and all appeared to go well. However, when I try to open the menu, (right click in Openbox), I get the following message:

Invalid output from pipe-menu "/usr/bin/obmenu-generator -i"

I have tried running 'obmenu-generator -i' in a terminal and get the following output:

root@miyolinux:/home/mc# obmenu-generator -i
Can't locate Linux/DesktopFiles.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Linux: :DesktopFiles module) (@INC contains: etc/perl usr/local/lib/x86_ 64-linux-gnu/perl/5.28.1 usr/local/share/perl/5.28.1 usr/1ib/X86_64-1inux-gnu/perl5/5.28 usr/share/perl5 usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl/5.28 usr/share/perl/5.28 usr/local/lib/site_perl usr/1ib/x86_64-1inux-gnu/perl-base) at usr/bin/obmenu-generator line 35.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at usr/bin/obmenu-generator line 35.

Can anyone help me to understand what is going wrong please?

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2020-06-04 19:35:32

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 761  
Website

Re: Upgrade error

The perl modules need updating.

I happen to have a package which supplies the perl modules that you need without relying on cpan:

https://software.opensuse.org//download … sktopfiles

It says it's for Debian but it is compatible with Devuan, the repository only supplies that package and obmenu-generator itself.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2020-06-04 19:37:03)


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

#3 2020-06-04 19:57:02

rayburn
Member
Registered: 2019-08-06
Posts: 4  

Re: Upgrade error

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

The perl modules need updating.

I happen to have a package which supplies the perl modules that you need without relying on cpan:

https://software.opensuse.org//download … sktopfiles

It says it's for Debian but it is compatible with Devuan, the repository only supplies that package and obmenu-generator itself.


Thank you so much, that was just the advice I needed, and so quickly too!

I followed the instructions, rebooted and I now have an application menu again, I much appreciate your time and advice.

Offline

#4 2020-06-04 20:02:55

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 761  
Website

Re: Upgrade error

You're welcome.

May I ask which version of obmenu-generator you're using?

apt policy obmenu-generator

I had an old version that was linked from the obmenu-generator github page that wasn't very good, the current package (v0.87-3) is much better and should probably be favoured.


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

#5 2020-06-04 20:35:18

rayburn
Member
Registered: 2019-08-06
Posts: 4  

Re: Upgrade error

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

You're welcome.

May I ask which version of obmenu-generator you're using?

apt policy obmenu-generator

I had an old version that was linked from the obmenu-generator github page that wasn't very good, the current package (v0.87-3) is much better and should probably be favoured.

root@miyolinux:/home/mc# apt policy obmenu-generator
obmenu-generator:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 0.87-3
  Version table:
     0.87-3 500
        500 [url]http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Head_on_a_Stick:/obmenu-generator/Debian_10[/url]  Packages

Looks like it is the current version.

Last edited by rayburn (2020-06-04 20:37:44)

Offline

#6 2020-06-04 20:48:48

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 761  
Website

Re: Upgrade error

Nice smile

So the error in the OP is actually my fault — the old package wasn't the best. All fixed now though.

EDIT: no, wait, the package isn't installed at all. Not sure what's happening there, perhaps @Miyo can clear things up for us if they notice this thread.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2020-06-04 20:50:49)


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

#7 2020-06-04 21:03:59

rayburn
Member
Registered: 2019-08-06
Posts: 4  

Re: Upgrade error

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Nice smile

So the error in the OP is actually my fault — the old package wasn't the best. All fixed now though.

EDIT: no, wait, the package isn't installed at all. Not sure what's happening there, perhaps @Miyo can clear things up for us if they notice this thread.

That is strange, I hadn't noticed that the package isn't installed! I was too focused on the version number....

For the moment I am just relieved that it all seems to be working now, and thanks again.

Offline

Board footer