The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-11 22:21:47

turbo
Member
Registered: 2019-12-30
Posts: 4  

network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

Hello people,

I am lost with my fresh new install of Devuan Jessie.
Network configuration for eth0 is static with all entries.
ifconfig -a shows the correct info, IP, Netmask, gateway
after reboot all is lost
ifup --force eth0 will read the configuration and after that
ifconfig -a shows again the correct info
reboot and all is gone and starting all over.
Even with /etc/init.d/networking restart    same result

This is reproducable.

This should be my replacement for Debian 8 as webserver machine, so ????  what do I have to look for ?

Any help appreciated.
Thank you.

Johannes

Last edited by turbo (2020-01-11 22:23:36)

Offline

#2 2020-01-12 11:17:39

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 865  
Website

Re: network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

Is the networking init script enabled?

# sysv-rc-conf

Black Lives Matter

Offline

#3 2020-01-12 15:11:35

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 107  
Website

Re: network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

I had to wakup my interface eth0 static this way.

from my: "/etc/network/interfaces"

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
     address 192.168.1.132
     netmask 255.255.255.0
     gateway 192.168.1.1
     network 192.168.1.0
     broadcast 192.168.1.255
     dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4

Just change mine data to yours and ping 8.8.8.8 once your system finish booting.

Offline

#4 2020-01-13 16:09:17

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 865  
Website

Re: network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

^ Google's nameservers? Really?

And you don't need to specify the broadcast address (it's the bitwise OR of the IP address and the bit complement of the subnet mask so it can be derived from those) or the network (again, implied by the netmask & IP address). And the netmask can be defined as part of the IP address in CIDR format, like this:

   address 192.168.1.132/24

EDIT: sorry for the diversion.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2020-01-13 16:10:49)


Black Lives Matter

Offline

#5 2020-01-14 12:16:07

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 107  
Website

Re: network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

^Where i have the data doesn't matter very much about Google, I use many Google producst like Chrome, Youtube, GMAIL etc... I stoped worrying about Google security-complex in other networks.

However do you have DNS to suggest?
I've tried 1.1.1.1 , 1.0.0.1 , 9.9.9.9 i didn't find them stable as 8.8.8.8, sometimes i see my Network unreachable with other DNS's, so i sets Google because looks always reachable to me.

I have to remove broadcast IP, I don't know how it ends there because I don't remember having to manually set it. I'm trying to remove it now thank you.

netmask 255.255.255.0 it belongs to 192.168.1.132/24 - i'm fixing this part by add /24 thanks.

Thanks so much, nothing to sorry, always pleasure to hear your suggestions & corrections.

Regards!

Offline

#6 2020-01-14 16:34:00

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 865  
Website

Re: network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

Nili wrote:

However do you have DNS to suggest?

Sorry Nili, I wasn't being entirely serious. I should have added a tongue

FWIW I use Quad9 'cos I like IBM.


Black Lives Matter

Offline

#7 2020-01-14 23:03:02

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 442  

Re: network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

Thanks @Head_on_a_Stick.

Offline

#8 2020-01-15 14:47:36

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 107  
Website

Re: network config lost after reboot, Devuan Jessie fresh install

I'll give another try those 9.9.9.9 from Quad9. Thanks for pointing out Hoas.

Offline

Board footer