The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-05-31 17:48:03

avapxia
Member
Registered: 2018-05-31
Posts: 2  

repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf InRelease' changed its 'Origin' value from '' to 'Devuan'

I read the manual but it is not obvious what the change should be.  Without the change it will not update.

Last edited by avapxia (2018-05-31 19:02:10)

Offline

#2 2018-05-31 18:03:45

jimmyjhn
Member
From: California
Registered: 2017-07-06
Posts: 7  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

Same question, same release, same error.  I can no longer update apt in Beowulf. Thanks.

Offline

#3 2018-05-31 18:17:09

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 789  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

I'm using the same repo, and I can update and install from beowulf. Both of you please say a little more about how you got this error and what your setup is, and maybe we can figure out what's different.

Offline

#4 2018-05-31 19:01:15

avapxia
Member
Registered: 2018-05-31
Posts: 2  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

INFORMATION CHANGES
       A Release file contains beside the checksums for the files in the repository also general information about the
       repository like the origin, codename or version number of the release.

       This information is shown in various places so a repository owner should always ensure correctness. Further more
       user configuration like apt_preferences(5) can depend and make use of this information. Since version 1.5 the user
       must therefore explicitly confirm changes to signal that the user is sufficiently prepared e.g. for the new major
       release of the distribution shipped in the repository (as e.g. indicated by the codename).

This help section is not very helpful in determining what origin is
I suspect it is something within the repository definition, but what "" is that is missing "devuan"???

deb https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged/ beowulf main 
deb https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged/ beowulf-updates contrib main 
deb https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged/ beowulf-security main 
E: Repository 'https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf InRelease' changed its 'Origin' value from '' to 'Devuan'
N: This must be accepted explicitly before updates for this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details.
E: Repository 'https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf-updates InRelease' changed its 'Origin' value from '' to 'Devuan'
N: This must be accepted explicitly before updates for this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details.
E: Repository 'https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf-security InRelease' changed its 'Origin' value from '' to 'Devuan'
N: This must be accepted explicitly before updates for this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details.

Ok I found out what is wrong

If you run apt-get update it gives the above notice
If you run apt update it gives the following:

Do you want to accept these changes and continue updating from this repository? [y/N] y

Then once you accept the changes both apt and apt-get will run like usual
What and where did this change apply to beats me!

Offline

#5 2018-05-31 19:04:00

jimmyjhn
Member
From: California
Registered: 2017-07-06
Posts: 7  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

Thank you for your reply, the first post says the error and the repos that are involved, our repos where working yesterday.  Maybe you can tell us what working repo you have for Beowulf please.

Offline

#6 2018-05-31 19:13:50

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 789  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

I was using this when I posted before.

deb http://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf main contrib non-free

and then I also tried https:

deb https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf main contrib non-free

I also have ascii, ascii-security and ascii-updates with same address (pkgmaster). The system is ascii. Beowulf is only used to check versions, but I did install something from beowulf as a test. No errors with apt-get update or apt update.

Offline

#7 2018-05-31 19:24:08

jimmyjhn
Member
From: California
Registered: 2017-07-06
Posts: 7  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

It seems since yesterday and today the release name has changed from no-name to beowulf and as posted above if you run 'apt update' and say 'yes' about 8 times to the change your packages will again update.  Thank you.

Offline

#8 2018-05-31 22:01:56

fungus
Member
From: Any witch way
Registered: 2017-07-12
Posts: 497  
Website

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

Why is this like de-ja-vue to me?
FSMR, are you implying those two other users are making it up?  The error messages I mean?

1 possible scenario is that they are running beowulf, and you are running ascii, so is it possible that your apt and apt-get is a different version than theirs (and corresponding libraries maybe?)
2 I have a feeling this is a mixup in the ascii (testing --> stable) beowulf (unstable --> testing) buster (testing) transition.
3  Your implication that the same repositories, the same procedure, returns different results is a serious one.  I think you should look into it.  I would say no more!

Offline

#9 2018-06-01 11:58:23

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 789  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

fungus wrote:

Why is this like de-ja-vue to me?
FSMR, are you implying those two other users are making it up?  The error messages I mean?

I'm not implying anything, and there's nothing in my posts to even remotely suggest that. Most of this thread consists of reporting and comparing observations, with documentation. This is normal problem-solving behavior. Jumping to conclusions doesn't solve anything.

jimmyjhn suggested in his last post that there was a recent change in the repo. He's right.
Here's the answer: https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?pid=9636#p9636

as of yesterday, the "Origin:" field in the Release and InRelease
files on pkgmaster.devuan.org and deb.devuan.org has been set to
"Devuan" (it was empty before).
<snip>

I can also state that I recall someone bringing this to our attention in irc a few days ago.

Offline

#10 2018-06-02 07:52:28

fungus
Member
From: Any witch way
Registered: 2017-07-12
Posts: 497  
Website

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

So the only logical explanation of why you wouldn't get those error messages is if you had that field set to devuan in advance?

This practice of "setting things" then make an announcement days later is a pattern with Devuan as it is making announcements on the list pretending there was no issue brought up on the forum.

Offline

#11 2018-06-02 09:10:36

fungus
Member
From: Any witch way
Registered: 2017-07-12
Posts: 497  
Website

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

Dear D1rs, as of yesterday, the "Origin:" field in the Release and InRelease files on pkgmaster.devuan.org and deb.devuan.org has been set to "Devuan" (it was empty before). This should most probably solve several issues related to incomplete or wrong information retrieved (openly or silently) by lsb_release. This includes also a few cases in which Devuan is not correctly "recognised" as a host system.

The change seems to be seamless, even if some users have reported that apt in Beowulf would issue a warning about that: you can safely ignore the warning, and ask apt to continue. Please report any issue with this change. HND KatolaZ

Obviously it is not seamless and you can't just ignore it with apt, you have to say yes for every repository in order to continue, OR YOU CAN NOT continue.  On apt-get it is not even telling you what to adjust and where, just DOES NOT continue and there is NO WAY to continue.

Just so we can set the record straight with what is what!

Offline

#12 2018-06-03 10:11:30

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 178  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

I have performed an apt-get update on both my ASCII machines. On my desktop, it corrected the information from lsb_release -a so that it now provides Devuan, 2, ascii. On my laptop I have got the following :-

# apt-get update
Get:1 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii InRelease [22.2 kB]
Get:2 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-backports InRelease [22.3 kB]
Get:3 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-proposed-updates InRelease [22.3 kB]
Get:4 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-security InRelease [21.6 kB]
Get:5 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-updates InRelease [22.2 kB]
Get:6 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-backports/main amd64 Packages [359 kB]
Get:7 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-security/main amd64 Packages [357 kB]
Fetched 827 kB in 0s (841 kB/s)                             
Reading package lists... Done

# lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID:	Devuan
Description:	Devuan GNU/Linux 9 (n/a)
Release:	9
Codename:	n/a

Neither of the machines is a fresh install and have come via Debian originally, although by different routes. It looks as though there is still some hangover from Debian on the laptop.

Geoff

Offline

#13 2018-06-03 15:21:22

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 789  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

This is what I'm getting on a desktop-live iso that I made a few weeks ago.

Distributor ID:	Devuan
Description:	Devuan GNU/Linux testing/unstable
Release:	testing/unstable
Codename:	n/a

Get:1 http://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii InRelease [22.2 kB]
Get:2 http://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-updates InRelease [22.2 kB]
Get:3 http://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-security InRelease [21.6 kB]
Get:4 http://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii/main amd64 Packages [7,239 kB]
Get:5 http://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii-security/main amd64 Packages [357 kB]
Fetched 7,662 kB in 5s (1,525 kB/s)
Reading package lists...

After update/dist-upgrade

Distributor ID:	Devuan
Description:	Devuan GNU/Linux 2.0 (ascii)
Release:	2.0
Codename:	ascii

After adding beowulf and doing another update

Distributor ID:	Devuan
Description:	Devuan GNU/Linux 3.0 (n/a)
Release:	3.0
Codename:	n/a

I don't know where your 9 is coming from. I've got a 9 in /etc/debian_version, but it doesn't seem to be interfering.

/etc/devuan_version says "ascii/ceres"
/etc/issue says "Devuan GNU/Linux ascii/ceres \n \l"

/etc/os-release

PRETTY_NAME="Devuan GNU/Linux ascii/ceres"
NAME="Devuan GNU/Linux"
ID=devuan
HOME_URL="https://www.devuan.org/"
SUPPORT_URL="https://www.devuan.org/support/"
BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.devuan.org/"

I don't know where else to look.


@fungus: I didn't edit any relase files, if that's what you were thinking. I might have added the beowulf line and not run an update until after the change.

Offline

#14 2018-06-03 15:34:22

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 178  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

Yes, I have the same contents in the files in /etc devuan_version, issue & os-release that you report as well as "9" in debian_version. I thought that I saw on DNG that one only needs to give the command apt-get update to make things correct, but I have also done an apt-get dist-upgrade, which has not corrected my laptop.

Geoff

Offline

#15 2018-06-04 13:29:31

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 178  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

It seems that lsb-release is written in Python, although the part in /usr/bin/lsb_release only really calls some library stuff. If you run

python -v /usr/bin/lsb_release -a

then you can see the bits that get pulled in, which includes

/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/lsb_release.pyc matches /usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/lsb_release.py

Looking at /usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/lsb_release.py

it seems that the mapping of release number to codename is hard coded for jessie and ascii, so that if it were to find version 9 then it would think it is unknown. I have not yet figured out how it discovers the version number.

Geoff

Offline

#16 2018-06-04 14:08:39

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 178  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

Meanwhile, back on my laptop

python -v /usr/bin/lsb_release -a

fails to run, while

python3 -v /usr/bin/lsb_release -a

does work, using /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/lsb_release.py

This version 3 version does not appear to be Devuan specific and returns :-

No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID:	Devuan
Description:	Devuan GNU/Linux 9 (n/a)
Release:	9
Codename:	n/a

Geoff

Offline

#17 2018-06-04 14:14:12

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 178  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

So, on my desktop machine, lsb_release has at its first line :-

#! /usr/bin/python -Es

while my laptop has :-

#! /usr/bin/python3 -Es

I wonder why they are different! And which is the correct one! Presumably the one which gives the correct answer, which is the one that runs Python 2.7 rather than 3.

Geoff

Offline

#18 2018-06-04 14:32:43

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 178  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

On my laptop I am offered 2 versions of lsb_release, 9.20150917 and 4.1+devuan2

$ apt-cache policy 'lsb-release'
lsb-release:
  Installed: 9.20150917
  Candidate: 9.20150917
  Version table:
 *** 9.20150917 100
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     4.1+devuan2 500
        500 https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged ascii/main amd64 Packages

while the desktop only knows about 4.1+devuan2. I wonder whether this is from the history as the laptop went from Debian testing to Devuan ASCII, while the desktop went from Debian Jessie to Devuan Jessie to ASCII. /usr/bin/lsb_release on the laptop dates from Aug 2015.

Geoff

Offline

#19 2018-06-04 14:52:24

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 178  

Re: repository changed its 'Origin' value [SOLVED]

I have now forced the version of lsb-release on the laptop to be 4.1+devuan2 and it now gives the correct answer. I also noticed that lsb-base was on version 9, so I have also forced that one as well.

Geoff

Offline

Board footer