The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-01 11:45:18

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 912  

"Origin" now set to "Devuan"

https://lists.dyne.org/lurker/message/2 … 48.en.html

Dear D1rs,

as of yesterday, the "Origin:" field in the Release and InRelease
files on pkgmaster.devuan.org and deb.devuan.org has been set to
"Devuan" (it was empty before).

This should most probably solve several issues related to incomplete
or wrong information retrieved (openly or silently) by
lsb_release. This includes also a few cases in which Devuan is not
correctly "recognised" as a host system.

The change seems to be seamless, even if some users have reported that
apt in Beowulf would issue a warning about that: you can safely ignore
the warning, and ask apt to continue.

Please report any issue with this change.

HND

KatolaZ

Offline

#2 2018-06-01 22:45:22

nixer
Member
From: North Carolina, USA
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 47  

Re: "Origin" now set to "Devuan"

you can safely ignore the warning, and ask apt to continue

When this happens, what is the command to update then?  I do not have the option of continuing.  When I try to update with "apt-get update", I get the error message below and I can't see how to continue.

Reading package lists... Done                                 
E: Repository 'http://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf-updates InRelease' changed its 'Origin' value from '' to 'Devuan'
N: This must be accepted explicitly before updates for this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details.
E: Repository 'https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf InRelease' changed its 'Origin' value from '' to 'Devuan'
N: This must be accepted explicitly before updates for this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details.
E: Repository 'https://pkgmaster.devuan.org/merged beowulf-security InRelease' changed its 'Origin' value from '' to 'Devuan'
N: This must be accepted explicitly before updates for this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details.

The package lists do not get updated so there is nothing known to update on my system.  Ideas?

Online

#3 2018-06-02 06:16:08

nick_stokie
Member
Registered: 2018-05-30
Posts: 6  

Re: "Origin" now set to "Devuan"

Use "apt update" instead of "apt-get update". Apt will prompt 'are you sure?' for each package; answer 'Y' and the update should work.

I think 'apt-get' is being / has been deprecated in favour of 'apt' so worth trying to use apt for all commands going forward.

Offline

#4 2018-06-02 11:10:01

nixer
Member
From: North Carolina, USA
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 47  

Re: "Origin" now set to "Devuan"

I think 'apt-get' is being / has been deprecated in favour of 'apt'

Somehow I missed that information.  Thanks for informing me.

Online

#5 2018-06-03 13:18:40

nick_stokie
Member
Registered: 2018-05-30
Posts: 6  

Re: "Origin" now set to "Devuan"

nixer wrote:
I think 'apt-get' is being / has been deprecated in favour of 'apt'

Somehow I missed that information.  Thanks for informing me.

Hmm, I possibly fail at "citation needed". I'd read it in a number of other forums but from following those trails yesterday I can't seem to find a definitive statement that the comments originate from.

Offline

#6 2018-06-03 14:50:17

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 266  

Re: "Origin" now set to "Devuan"

afaik there's no deprecation happening here; it's rather that proponents of apt are more keen to voice their perspective.

Offline

#7 2018-06-03 21:55:20

ivanovnegro
Member
Registered: 2018-05-15
Posts: 57  

Re: "Origin" now set to "Devuan"

I prefer just using apt because the syntax is shorter but apt-get is not deprecated and it should make no difference in this case.

Offline

#8 2018-06-07 11:12:15

thierrybo
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 14  

Re: "Origin" now set to "Devuan"

nick_stokie wrote:

Use "apt update" instead of "apt-get update". Apt will prompt 'are you sure?' for each package; answer 'Y' and the update should work.

I think 'apt-get' is being / has been deprecated in favour of 'apt' so worth trying to use apt for all commands going forward.


apt-get has not been deprecated in favour of apt. apt-get commands are not "user friendly" for interactive use. So apt is build on top of apt-get, apt-cache ...  to get nicer results and simpler commands, and as a result commands syntax is not guaranteed to not change. Howewer apt-get will be kept as-is and is suitable for sripting / use in programs.

This is all explained here : https://itsfoss.com/apt-vs-apt-get-difference/

Offline

Board footer