The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-04-06 14:14:53

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 187  

Chromium after upgrade - Jessie to Ascii

After upgrading from Jessie to Ascii, the Chromium package was held back. There were also a large number of packages which could be removed with apt-get autoremove. I had a quick look through these and could not see anything which might cause a problem. Doing the autoremove seemed to go smoothly, but had the side effect that Chromium could be upgraded, which I did and am now on 64.0.3282.119-1~deb9u1. Chromium does run, but I have had a couple of errors, while looking at Google maps, suggesting that I reload. It seems to have settled down a bit now and I can't reproduce the error message!

Geoff

Offline

#2 2018-04-06 19:24:04

GNUser
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 420  

Re: Chromium after upgrade - Jessie to Ascii

Hi, Geoff42. I'm on a fully up-to-date ASCII here. I mostly use firefox but do have chromium 64.0.3282.119-1~deb9u1, which I use as a backup browser. I installed ASCII from scratch and didn't have to do anything special to get that version of chromium. I have never had this version of chromium give off any errors or ask me to reload, not even when using Google maps.

Hopefully it will be smooth sailing for you and the error will not return. If it does, I will be happy to try to help.

Offline

#3 2018-04-07 16:08:31

msi
Member
Registered: 2017-02-04
Posts: 115  

Re: Chromium after upgrade - Jessie to Ascii

Geoff 42 wrote:

After upgrading from Jessie to Ascii, the Chromium package was held back.

Using apt-get dist-upgrade usually solves that kind of problem for me.

Last edited by msi (2018-04-07 16:09:35)

Offline

#4 2018-04-08 05:58:47

Geoff 42
Member
Registered: 2016-12-15
Posts: 187  

Re: Chromium after upgrade - Jessie to Ascii

msi wrote:
Geoff 42 wrote:

After upgrading from Jessie to Ascii, the Chromium package was held back.

Using apt-get dist-upgrade usually solves that kind of problem for me.

I had run apt-get dist-upgrade several times and Chromium was still held back. It was the apt-get autoremove which finally allowed Chromium to be upgraded. I failed to spot which package was causing the dependency problem.

Geoff

Offline

Board footer