The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-07-29 22:26:22

brocashelm
Member
Registered: 2020-06-29
Posts: 28  

Screen Randomly Freezing

Ever since I upgraded to Chimaera, I've been having this problem every other two or three days. I'm using Xfce, and I toggle between workspaces a lot (most of these crashes happened right after).

Here's what I'm suspecting is happening when the screen randomly freezes. I can't use my keyboard to run a command line, so I always resort to turning the machine off manually. It's been getting very annoying to have to do this routinely, so I want this out of my way as soon as possible. Thanks in advance.

[   132.953] (**) Option "fd" "20"
[   132.953] (II) event1  - Power Button: device removed
[   132.953] (**) Option "fd" "23"
[   132.953] (II) event0  - Power Button: device removed
[   132.953] (**) Option "fd" "24"
[   132.953] (II) event2  - USB Optical Mouse: device removed
[   132.953] (**) Option "fd" "25"
[   132.953] (II) event3  - Dell Dell USB Keyboard: device removed
[   132.953] (**) Option "fd" "26"
[   132.953] (II) event15 - ACPI Virtual Keyboard Device: device removed
[   132.961] (II) UnloadModule: "libinput"
[   132.961] (II) systemd-logind: releasing fd for 13:79
[   132.961] (EE) systemd-logind: failed to release device: Unknown object '/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_31'.
[   132.980] (II) UnloadModule: "libinput"
[   132.980] (II) systemd-logind: releasing fd for 13:67
[   132.981] (EE) systemd-logind: failed to release device: Unknown object '/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_31'.
[   132.996] (II) UnloadModule: "libinput"
[   132.996] (II) systemd-logind: releasing fd for 13:66
[   132.996] (EE) systemd-logind: failed to release device: Unknown object '/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_31'.
[   133.028] (II) UnloadModule: "libinput"
[   133.028] (II) systemd-logind: releasing fd for 13:64
[   133.028] (EE) systemd-logind: failed to release device: Unknown object '/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_31'.
[   133.044] (II) UnloadModule: "libinput"
[   133.044] (II) systemd-logind: releasing fd for 13:65
[   133.045] (EE) systemd-logind: failed to release device: Unknown object '/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_31'.
[   133.234] (WW) xf86CloseConsole: KDSETMODE failed: Input/output error
[   133.234] (WW) xf86CloseConsole: VT_GETMODE failed: Input/output error
[   133.234] (WW) xf86CloseConsole: VT_ACTIVATE failed: Input/output error
[   133.234] (EE) systemd-logind: ReleaseControl failed: Unknown object '/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_31'.
[   133.234] (II) Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.

Offline

#2 2020-07-30 16:40:32

chris2be8
Member
Registered: 2018-08-11
Posts: 93  

Re: Screen Randomly Freezing

Try ctrl-alt-f1 (pressing all 3 keys at once in that order). That may get you to a text console. Then you could log on and investigate.

If you have another system try logging on over the network.

How hard is it hung? Does pressing caps/num/scroll lock toggle the LEDs on the keyboard?

What sort of system is it (laptop or desktop, make, model, cpu, etc)?

Does it have a reset button? If so does it work in the hung state?

Chris

Offline

#3 2020-07-30 19:01:00

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 865  
Website

Re: Screen Randomly Freezing

brocashelm wrote:

upgraded to Chimaera

That's a development branch, it breaks. If the stable release works for you then use that.


Black Lives Matter

Offline

#4 2020-07-30 19:16:29

brocashelm
Member
Registered: 2020-06-29
Posts: 28  

Re: Screen Randomly Freezing

chris2be8 wrote:

Try ctrl-alt-f1 (pressing all 3 keys at once in that order). That may get you to a text console. Then you could log on and investigate.

If you have another system try logging on over the network.

How hard is it hung? Does pressing caps/num/scroll lock toggle the LEDs on the keyboard?

What sort of system is it (laptop or desktop, make, model, cpu, etc)?

Does it have a reset button? If so does it work in the hung state?

Chris

Unfortunately, my keyboard isn't responsive at all whenever that happens. That's what I always attempt when something goes wrong, too. The system is a mid-level Dell desktop from the early 2010s, using an i5 CPU.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

That's a development branch, it breaks. If the stable release works for you then use that.

Right. I wanted to get slightly newer packages as a middle ground between standard Debian and Arch GNU/Linux. I just switched to Ceres and have noticed improvements already. If it happens again, I'll update this thread.

Offline

#5 2020-07-30 19:33:14

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 865  
Website

Re: Screen Randomly Freezing

brocashelm wrote:

I just switched to Ceres

That's also a development branch.

You can mix testing and unstable if you know what you're doing: https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debi … le_literal

And use the transitions page to get an idea of upcoming problems: https://release.debian.org/transitions/


Black Lives Matter

Offline

Board footer