The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-16 22:41:00

lunario
Member
Registered: 2017-11-18
Posts: 13  

Microphone on webrtc not working due to hardware settings?

I am trying to get my mic to work in chromium with webrtc. I have also tested it in firefox on several webrtc-using sites, and nowhere does my devuan beowulf setup grant webrtc access to the microphone, it seems. I have tried several sites, including test.webrtc.org, but it always falls back to the problem with permissions. My camera is recognized fine.
I can also locally use my microphone in audacity or voice chat programs, it's only webrtc where it does not work. There are no other programs running that might be capturing its input, and I don't know what else to try anymore. It's quite frustrating.

When I use my ubuntu-installation, everything works fine, so I am pretty sure it is devuan-related. Any ideas?

Offline

#2 2020-05-17 03:20:31

wdq
Member
Registered: 2018-03-15
Posts: 54  

Re: Microphone on webrtc not working due to hardware settings?

You can't load webRTC using file:/// just try using simple http:// instead, load with :
Python -m SimpleHTTPServer
That in Python2 in Python3:
Python -m http.server 8000
And you should  not have any errors.

Last edited by wdq (2020-05-17 03:21:12)

Offline

#3 2020-05-17 06:46:02

lunario
Member
Registered: 2017-11-18
Posts: 13  

Re: Microphone on webrtc not working due to hardware settings?

I tried the command:

python -m SimpleHTTPServer

... but it did not get me any further. Also, I am not sure what you mean by using "file:///" instead of "http://". I am not trying to setup my own website with webrtc or so, i am talking about usecases like https://meet.jit.si, which require https.

When I run the above command and point my browser to 0.0.0.0:8000 I just get a view of my home folder's files in the browser.

Offline

#4 2020-05-17 12:36:30

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 420  

Re: Microphone on webrtc not working due to hardware settings?

At a guess you are talking about 2 microphones, and the browser cleverly selects the wrong one... perhaps?

Offline

#5 2020-05-17 13:14:47

lunario
Member
Registered: 2017-11-18
Posts: 13  

Re: Microphone on webrtc not working due to hardware settings?

There are several microphone options in the chromium browser menu (see screenshot: https://i.imgur.com/2DTEpc5.png) but no matter which one I pick, it never works.

I have compared all the packages that seemed audio-related to me between my ubuntu installation (where audio works) and devuan, and Iinstalled all those that were not installed on devuan. The only ones that are on my working ubuntu setup but not in the devuan repository are alsa-ucm-conf and alsa-topology-conf. Could it be related to those? Or does anyone have any othe rideas what I could do to debug this? Something like strace but for the audio setup?

To me the only plausible explanations left are that it is something related to pulseaudio or apparmor (given that it is a permission error that we are talking about).

Edit:
Well, having mentioned strace, I just did a "strace chromium" to see whether that gives any hints. I am not very skilled at debugging those logs, though I am trying. Perhaps this gives some of you a better clue of what the problem might be? https://termbin.com/y4w30

Last edited by lunario (2020-05-17 13:23:16)

Offline

#6 2020-05-17 13:31:08

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 420  

Re: Microphone on webrtc not working due to hardware settings?

I use google-chrome-stable for jitsi myself so I'm not to familiar with that interface, but that toggle it shows seems to be regarding the output and not the input?

I also don't use apparmor, so can't help you there. Not much use I'm afraid; I'm sure you checked through all the browser's own "permission settings".

Offline

#7 2020-05-17 13:44:18

lunario
Member
Registered: 2017-11-18
Posts: 13  

Re: Microphone on webrtc not working due to hardware settings?

I tried both chromium and ungoogled-chromium, to no avail. I also just uninstalled apparmor (and rebooted), still no luck.

Offline

Board footer