The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-04-18 13:46:17

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 875  

New, new Refracta isos

Refracta-9.0 Beta isos based on Devuan ASCII (=Debian Stretch).
xfce, eudev, elogind, sysvinit, and a bunch of other goodies.
Still fits on a CD. (I left some apps out.)
https://sourceforge.net/projects/refrac ... s/testing/

New installer features:
- both cli and gui installers will do bios or uefi install
- support for gpt disks with bios boot (warns if you don't have bios_grub partition)
- support for full-disk encryption (encrypted /boot directory)

Offline

#2 2018-04-19 01:51:06

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 167  
Website

Re: New, new Refracta isos

Quality work as always.

I checked out the way you solved the proprietary firmware conundrum.  I was wondering if you have a script that automates the .deb downloads and updates the readme, or if you do so by hand.

Last edited by siva (2018-04-19 01:51:20)

Offline

#3 2018-04-19 14:37:06

catprints
Member
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 104  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

fsmithred, I used the terminal and refractainstaller (as root) and answered some (4 or 5?) questions and terminal went to new prompt as if finished. No install. Everything was default. That is, no installer files changed by me. I,m guessing, if installation were happening without a window showing the terminal would not have returned to the prompt.
Your work is greatly appreciated.


"The obstacle is the path."

Offline

#4 2018-04-19 16:49:04

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 875  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

Catprints, please run it with 'refractainstaller -d' and save /var/log/refractainstaller_error.log. Then I can tell exactly where it failed. Thanks.

Siva, no script. I download them manually (possibly with a 'for' loop, depending on how lazy I feel). Some versions did not change between jessie and ascii, some did, and some names changed. (no more firmware-ralink).

Offline

#5 2018-04-19 19:12:36

catprints
Member
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 104  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

@fsmithred

+ [[ ! -d /lib/live/mount/medium ]]
+ [[ yes = \y\e\s ]]
+ for file in /usr/lib/refractainstaller/pre-install/*
+ [[ -x /usr/lib/refractainstaller/pre-install/loc-timezn.sh ]]
+ bash /usr/lib/refractainstaller/pre-install/loc-timezn.sh
+ [[ -f /usr/lib/refractainstaller/installer_exclude.list ]]
++ dpkg -l
++ grep -v doc
++ egrep 'ii|hi'
++ awk '$2 ~ "grub-[eglp]" { print $2}'
++ grep -v bin
+ grubversion=grub-efi-amd64
++ env LC_ALL=C fdisk -l
++ awk '/Disklabel type/ { print $3 }'
++ grep gpt
+ gpt_list=
++ env LC_ALL=C fdisk -l
++ awk '/BIOS boot/ { print $1 }'
+ bios_grub_dev=
+ [[ -d /sys/firmware/efi ]]
/usr/bin/refractainstaller: line 294: syntax error near unexpected token `fi'
/usr/bin/refractainstaller: line 294: `fi'
ent default time zone: 'US/Central'
Local time is now:      Thu Apr 19 13:35:50 CDT 2018.
Universal Time is now:  Thu Apr 19 18:35:50 UTC 2018.

debconf: unable to initialize frontend: Gnome
debconf: (Can't locate Gtk2.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Gtk2 module) (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/local/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl/5.24.1 /usr/local/share/perl/5.24.1 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl5/5.24 /usr/share/perl5 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl/5.24 /usr/share/perl/5.24 /usr/local/lib/site_perl /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl-base) at /usr/share/perl5/Debconf/FrontEnd/Gnome.pm line 91.)
debconf: falling back to frontend: Dialog
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  en_US.UTF-8... done
Generation complete.

That's the whole thing.
I failed to mention, that during boot, it stopped at eth0: link is not ready.
at prompt I wrote startx and it finished bringing up refracta. Tried two different dell machines-same result.


"The obstacle is the path."

Offline

#6 2018-04-19 20:21:31

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 875  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

OK, my mistake. I thought I fixed that error. The i386 does have the correction. I just checked.

In the amd64 iso, there's an erroneous 'fi' on line 294.
sudo nano +294 /usr/bin/refractainstaller and delete the fi. There's also one on the line above that must stay. Doesn't really matter which one goes or stays, but you need one.

or get a replacement script here:
http://termbin.com/87bh

Sorry about that.

Edit: Take the pasted replacement. There another error that would show up if you have a separate /home partition and change the username during the install.

Offline

#7 2018-04-19 21:43:21

catprints
Member
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 104  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

That worked ( the first fix)-installed fine after that. ty


"The obstacle is the path."

Offline

#8 2018-04-21 14:49:22

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 875  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

New amd64 iso uploaded with the right installer scripts. smile

New iso is missing /etc/default/grub. sad
You can still install it and boot, but the menu will say GNU/Linux instead of Refracta GNU/Linux.

Fix:

apt-get --reinstall install grub-efi-amd64

Also - if you have an old macbook pro that wants a 32-bit uefi bootloader with a 64-bit OS, this iso should do it. I'm not sure if grub-efi-ia32 will get installed automatically or if you need to do it manually.

If you install the package before running refractainstaller, don't let it install the bootloader. The installer should do that.
Other option is to do it in chroot from within the installer when it pauses. (There's a chroot button that opens a terminal in the chrooted system.)

Offline

#9 2018-09-12 15:44:11

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 875  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

One more time...

beta3: https://sourceforge.net/projects/refrac … s/testing/

2018-09-12 New isos: xfce4, amd64 and i386
    - Fixed/updated accessibility theme.
    - Geany replaces medit.
    - Added xsane, sane-utils, libsane-extras, synaptic package manager.
    - Added some thunar custom actions.
    - Fixed installer help.
    - Added netdev and scanner to default user groups.


Synaptic starts without authentication, but that only seems to be for the primary user. It wouldn't start for a second user, even when the second user started synaptic-pkexec from terminal and entered the root password when requested. You can still start it from a terminal as root by running 'synaptic'. (Without the pkexec part.)

Tell me what's broken so I can fix it and be done with ascii. I want to start working on beowulf.

Offline

#10 2018-09-12 21:21:28

Ozi
Member
Registered: 2017-03-15
Posts: 41  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

I'm looking forward to giving this new iso a try out!

Good luck with beowulf!

Offline

#11 2018-09-14 22:41:17

Ozi
Member
Registered: 2017-03-15
Posts: 41  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

I don't whether this has been fixed or mentioned before, so if it has sorry.

On the 'Settings' menu, 'Monitor Settings' is there twice

Load very quickly, and very responsive!  Nice!!!

Offline

#12 2018-09-14 22:56:21

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 875  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

Thanks. I hadn't noticed that. I think I created the extra .desktop file for lxdm in case it ever gets an update - the default is to only show in lxde, so if it ever happens, there will still be one entry. There are two for synaptic, too, in case pkexec doesn't work for you. (I'm beginning to think pkexec has a mind of its own and decides things randomly.)

Offline

#13 2018-09-15 22:27:37

Ozi
Member
Registered: 2017-03-15
Posts: 41  

Re: New, new Refracta isos

Yes I figured that was why there are 2 synaptic menu items, after you said you had trouble with it. I "let sleeping dogs lie" and have managed to avoid trouble.

Offline

Board footer