The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-02-16 19:01:31

MLEvD
Member
Registered: 2021-02-14
Posts: 31  

Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

Deadbeef is the only linux music player that does gapless playback properly.

Moc is lightning fast but still gappy. Is there something out there? Cli gapless playback and half-decent playlisting features?

Offline

#2 2021-02-16 19:13:47

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,750  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

I had to look up that term to see what it meant. Audacious does gapless playback. I just tested. It went from Mona to Maiden of the Cander Moon without missing a beat. (Quicksilver Messenger Service). And unlike deadbeef (which I like a lot) audacious is in the repo.

It does playlists, but I never bother with them, so I don't know how good or bad they are.

Offline

#3 2021-02-16 21:03:03

MLEvD
Member
Registered: 2021-02-14
Posts: 31  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

Wow, you're right, Audacious does do gapless rather well nowadays. It's like deadbeef with bloat. iirc it broke when I tried to feed it my music collection.
Does Audacious have a cli mode?

Offline

#4 2021-02-16 23:58:09

zapper
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 223  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

Moc works for me, just use by command mocp

and you get a cli interface.


Black Lives Matter!  I am white, but I prefer equality over hatred.
Haughtiness comes before a fall, pride before destruction.
Peace be with you!

Offline

#5 2021-02-17 06:02:13

andyprough
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 16  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

For cli, mpv has a "--gapless-audio=yes" option by which mpv claims to give gapless play. So the command would be 'mpv --gapless-audio=yes song1 song2 song3...'. Unfortunately, I could not hear any difference - there's still the same gap of about one or two beats between songs as without using the option. Possibly it would work better with a playlist or with some other option.

Offline

#6 2021-02-17 11:30:24

MLEvD
Member
Registered: 2021-02-14
Posts: 31  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

zapper wrote:

Moc works for me, just use by command mocp

and you get a cli interface.

Do you have a very fast machine? Perhaps your gaps are very small but I assure you, they are there!

Offline

#7 2021-02-17 11:32:36

MLEvD
Member
Registered: 2021-02-14
Posts: 31  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

@andyprough I've tried a few players which claimed gapless but didn't do it properly, if a new one hasn't been written recently then there most likely isn't one. Surely a cli mode for deadbeef or audacious needs to happen?

Offline

#8 2021-02-17 12:17:26

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,750  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

 Surely a cli mode for deadbeef or audacious needs to happen?

Already done and in repo.

       -H, --headless
              Start in command-line mode; i.e., without any graphical user interface.

Offline

#9 2021-02-17 12:36:19

MLEvD
Member
Registered: 2021-02-14
Posts: 31  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

Ok, so my job for today is to grab a spare eee pc, Beowulf3.1 netinst, decline all tasksel.
Install audacious then run audacious -H and I can make playlist from sd card there and then?

Last edited by MLEvD (2021-02-17 12:36:52)

Offline

#10 2021-02-17 17:41:23

zapper
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 223  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

MLEvD wrote:
zapper wrote:

Moc works for me, just use by command mocp

and you get a cli interface.

Do you have a very fast machine? Perhaps your gaps are very small but I assure you, they are there!

Haven't noticed much issues, and mocp works on both my hyperbola gnu/linux install and if it works on that, it will work well on my devuan laptop too.  Because the hyperbola one is on a x200, the devuan one is on an x230, and x230 is like twice as fast. 

Both have some version of coreboot on them/me disabled.

Tell me, what do those gaps feel like to you? I am curious.

Just to make sure, If you like, I can always test on my thinkpad x230.  But first I need to know what I am testing for. ;o

Also, is your comp a 2nd gen intel, 3rd gen intel, arm, etc?

Don't know your specs to know how slow your comp is or how fast it is.

Your call though.

Last edited by zapper (2021-02-17 17:43:04)


Black Lives Matter!  I am white, but I prefer equality over hatred.
Haughtiness comes before a fall, pride before destruction.
Peace be with you!

Offline

#11 2021-02-17 21:24:27

MLEvD
Member
Registered: 2021-02-14
Posts: 31  

Re: Why I have to have a desktop and hope I am wrong.

Asus 701.
630mhz celeron M, single core.
512mb ram
Max 30mb/s read speed off disk, more like 1mb/s for random small read/write

The gaps feel like the music stops for a very brief time before continuing. It's not right!

Offline

Board footer