The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-07 23:49:51

JoeThunder

Request for review and testing: Plymouth boot splash for Beowulf

Hi folks,

I'm a long time Debian derivatives user/abuser/sysadmin since about 2002 and have been using Devuan on my Lenovo X230 Thinkpad as my main OS since ASCII. No surprises that I'm not a fan of systemd and I am a big supporter of init freedom of choice.

I decided to have a go a de-systemd-ing the Plymouth boot splash package as I was missing the shiny on my notebook. I am not a developer by any means, merely an amateur hacker and tinkerer.

I've patched the Plymouth package sources fetched from the Devuan repos and pushed them to the Devuan gitlab server here:

https://git.devuan.org/JoeThunder/plymo … no-systemd

If you're interested, I'd appreciate some feedback and testing. BE WARNED! Trying this might break your boot process so unless you are confident in rescuing your system, you should probably avoid it.

To build the packages required; clone the repo; change into the plymouth-0.9.4 directory; checkout the devuan/no-systemd branch; dpkg-checkbuilddeps and install any missing build dependencies then dpkg-buildpackage. The built packages should be in the directory above the plymouth-0.9.4 one.

Before install, change /etc/initramfs-tools/modules to include your KMS graphics driver. For example, my Thinkpad needs i915 modeset=1

You can install the pacakges using dpkg -i and you'll need the following:

libplymouth4_0.9.4-1.1_amd64.deb
plymouth-label_0.9.4-1.1_amd64.deb
plymouth-themes_0.9.4-1.1_amd64.deb
plymouth_0.9.4-1.1_amd64.deb
plymouth-x11_0.9.4-1.1_amd64.deb

(I believe the plymouth-x11 package is only required if you are using Xorg X11 - I'm using gnome3/gdm3 + wayland so don't require it)