The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-18 02:35:00

ghaverla

UPS, digital power supplies and what jobs use power

I run BOINC jobs (and I am not an expert at this).  And I have UPSes which can report on how much power is being used.  And for one machine (soon to be 2), I have digital power supplies which can report on how much power is being used at 3.3, 5 and 12V.

At the moment, I am just learning about this, and so I am just doing publicly available BOINC stuff.  My intention is to make my own BOINC jobs served by a BOINC server I run. Which allows me the possibility of farming out jobs to other people to work on.  Which is partially funny, as at the end of the day, what I am trying to improve is farming in the part of the world where I live.

I have 3 UPS in use (1 not yet in use), and 3 of them are from CyberPower.  The outlier is a APC UPS that I have had forever.

NUT (Network UPS Tools) is probably the tool most people should use, unless the UPS they have isn't supported by NUT.  Another possible reason to not use NUT, is that the data you want/need is not currently provided by NUT.

So, I am starting from the assumption that NUT is the system installed.  And among the things NUT does, is by default it looks for UPS data every 15 seconds.

---