The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-27 22:15:59

SolidTrump
Member
Registered: 2018-06-22
Posts: 15  

How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

I need help trying to switch my CPU from "powersave" to "performance". I am not sure how to change it and I am pretty new to Linux still in general, especially Devuan. Here are my specs:

  ..,,;;;::;,..                   solidtrump@devuan 
           `':ddd;:,.              ----------------- 
                 `'dPPd:,.         OS: Devuan GNU/Linux 2.0 (ascii) x86_64 
                     `:b$$b`.      Model: Aspire one 1-132 V1.03 
                        'P$$$d`    Kernel: 4.9.0-6-amd64 
                         .$$$$$`   Uptime: 3 hours, 7 minutes 
                         ;$$$$$P   Packages: 1676 
                      .:P$$$$$$`   Shell: bash 4.4.12 
                  .,:b$$$$$$$;'    Resolution: 1366x768 
             .,:dP$$$$$$$$b:'      DE: XFCE 
      .,:;db$$$$$$$$$$Pd'`         WM: Xfwm4 
 ,db$$$$$$$$$$$$$$b:'`             WM Theme: Clearlooks-Phenix-DarkPurpy 
:$$$$$$$$$$$$b:'`                  Theme: Xfce-dusk [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3] 
 `$$$$$bd:''`                      Icons: DarkPurpy [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3] 
   `'''`                           Terminal: xfce4-terminal 
                                   CPU: Intel Celeron N3060 (2) @ 2.4GHz 
                                   GPU: Intel Integrated Graphics 
                                   Memory: 1174MB / 1917MB 

My laptop is a Acer Aspire One 11 (AO1-132)

An article on it: https://mspoweruser.com/acer-aspire-one … ion-light/

My CPU is a Intel Celeron Dual Core processor in the specs. I recall having some Intel graphics tweak tool thing available when I was on Windows 10 that came pre-installed when I got this craptop of a netbook (along with a lot of bloatware shit I didn't care about and took ages to remove because Acer brand laptops you get from Walmart, or anywhere really, are kinda trash). Is there some program by Intel that I could use to change the settings of my CPU or do I need to mess around with Terminal a lot?

Also, I do remember when messing around with my kernel when I was still on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (the distrobution I used before Devuan). Something about my CPU being set to performance instead of powersave but it was still actually on powersave. Why is that? Is it Ubuntu's fault or my bad hardware? Everything is pretty confusing since my laptop was quite literally made for a year then discontinued. One of those one-off real cheap laptops companies make for extra cash.

Last edited by SolidTrump (2018-07-03 01:14:09)

Offline

#2 2018-06-28 14:37:41

M0E-lnx
Member
Registered: 2018-06-27
Posts: 8  

Re: How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

The same old way of doing it should work.

I have 64bit ascii install and i'm able to set cpufreq using the cpufrequtils package

apt update
apt install cpufrequtils
cpufreq-info
# See help for correct usage syntax.
cpufreq-set --help

Offline

#3 2018-06-29 03:58:26

bash64
Member
Registered: 2018-06-27
Posts: 18  

Re: How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

I am having trouble also, it seems to be changes made in the latest kernels that effect cpufreq.
Supposedly you must set the governer first and then set the freq.
>cpufreq-set -g performance
>cpufreq-set -f 3100000

try that

Offline

#4 2018-06-30 00:59:26

SolidTrump
Member
Registered: 2018-06-22
Posts: 15  

Re: How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

bash64 wrote:

I am having trouble also, it seems to be changes made in the latest kernels that effect cpufreq.
Supposedly you must set the governer first and then set the freq.
>cpufreq-set -g performance
>cpufreq-set -f 3100000

try that

M0E-lnx wrote:

The same old way of doing it should work.

I have 64bit ascii install and i'm able to set cpufreq using the cpufrequtils package

apt update
apt install cpufrequtils
cpufreq-info
# See help for correct usage syntax.
cpufreq-set --help

@bash64

The first command did change on of my cores to performance but the other one is still on powersave. The second command gave me this result:

solidtrump@devuan:~$ sudo cpufreq-set -f 3100000
Error setting new values. Common errors:
- Do you have proper administration rights? (super-user?)
- Is the governor you requested available and modprobed?
- Trying to set an invalid policy?
- Trying to set a specific frequency, but userspace governor is not available,
   for example because of hardware which cannot be set to a specific frequency
   or because the userspace governor isn't loaded?
solidtrump@devuan:~$_

@M0E-lnx

I already got cpufreq thank you.

Offline

#5 2018-06-30 02:36:07

devuser
Member
Registered: 2018-04-30
Posts: 176  

Re: How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

From what i read (most?) Celeron CPUs don't have speedstep so setting a frequency might not be possible? Don't have much actual experience there, sorry.

Offline

#6 2018-07-02 13:57:24

M0E-lnx
Member
Registered: 2018-06-27
Posts: 8  

Re: How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

You need to use the proper syntax.

 cpufreq-set -c your_cpu_ID -g your_governor
# ie, 
cpufreq-set -c 0 -g ondemand

Offline

#7 2018-07-03 01:13:47

SolidTrump
Member
Registered: 2018-06-22
Posts: 15  

Re: How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

Thanks man it worked. Both cores are now performance!

Offline

#8 2018-07-05 23:29:51

bash64
Member
Registered: 2018-06-27
Posts: 18  

Re: How does one change CPU governors on Devuan? [SOLVED]

I bought a Dell e1705 laptop. If the battery is bad the bios locks the cpus at 800mhz each.
cpufreq-set kept saying they were locked via hardware.
Drove me nutz till I figured it out.

Offline

Board footer